relative

The first goosander of this winter, who yesterday flew away when I took out my camera, was posing and giving us a twirl this morning when I was out walking Meatbag
However I wanted to get a blip of the new RLS statues in Colinton, as he is a distant relative

The base of the statue reads
"All through my boyhood and youth I was known and pointed out for the pattern of an idler; and yet I was always busy on my own private end, which was to learn to write . I kept always two books in my pocket, one to read, one to write in."
"Memories and Portraits"
Robert Louis Stevenson

The sign on the wall reads
As a boy, RLS would have frequently passed this place when staying with his grandfather at Colinton Manse.
THE MANSE: 'It was a place in that time like no other: the garden cut into provinces by a great hedge of beech, and overlooked by the church and the terrace of the churchyard, where the tombstones were thick, and after nightfall "spunkies" might be seen to dance, at least by children;' Memories and Portraits - Robert Louis Stevenson
Visit the Swing Cafe in the churchyard to see the old yew tree that held the swing believed to have inspired RLS to write his poem The Swing

came home to a crochet/mini blipmeet
an evening drink with E-R

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.