my name is not Liz Imbrie

By LizImbrie

another successful visit to the antiques shop

Not a terribly exciting photo again, but an exciting purchase for me and Sam. We haven't had any chairs to go with our new table (story here) since we moved house as I had my heart set on some bent wood chairs. I grew up with ricketey bent wood chairs round the kitchen table and they also feature prominently in some of our favourite places - the Dogs, Parisian cafe's etc.

Lewis at courtyard antiques took my number and said he'd call when he got some in. He finally called 3 months later and we weren't disappointed. As well as this lovely wee chair ( look at the embossed seat. He reckoned it's c.1880 ), we also got 3 other bent wood chairs with cushioned seats (I'll reupholster them with something more interesting) and a wine rack, all for 70 quid. Happy doesn't quite sum it up.
This little shopping trip also meant an excuse to take my aunt in for a look around. She reckons next time she comes to visit from Amsterdam, she'll bring the car! I figured she'd like the place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.