A Breezy Day

By Bree

A Dog's Afternoon

This is my new pooch Toby (he's been with me since May). He's a Shiba Inu mix that I rescued from the Humane Society in Hawaii. I went there to make a donation for my niece (whom had passed away the year prior and had always loved animals) and to also inform them (the humane society) that one of their volunteers, my best friend of fifteen years, had died the week earlier. It's fair to say that I've had a crap year. But this precious, tenacious, puppy (he's 10 months old now) almost jumped out of his enclosure when I walked past him. He ignored all the other people except me. So I took it as a sign from my niece and my best friend that this dog was supposed to come home with me. Since I've had him, I have moved from Hawaii to West Virginia and now to Illinois. He's not really enjoyed all the moving (and neither has my 13 year old German Shorthair Pointer) but today he enjoyed very much. We are living on my mom's 35 acre farm and he, along with my other dog, my five year old son and my husband, reside with 5 other dogs and my parents! Life is crazy right now but Toby seems to enjoy the chaos and the free space, the sunshine, the fall weather, and the bone of some dead animal that one of his new friends brought him. Oh to be a dog!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.