Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Pay No Poll Tax

Some ghost graffiti from the Leeds-Liverpool canal, vintage c. 1990. The bridge was for the disused southerly rail line that crosses the canal at this point, the twin bridge for the still active Leeds-Skipton railway line lies behind. You can also see one of the many swing bridges that adorn this section of the canal further along.

I've recently discovered the Bradford Ringwalks trail devised by Paul Sheldon in the early 80s. It provides a thirty one mile circuit of the outer reaches of the city, divided into fourteen circular walks. While I still haven't finished off the Bradford Millennium Way, which focuses on the upland areas to the north and west of the District, I thought I'd make a start on this alternative trail.

Taking the Buck Wood Swing Bridge as my starting point I walked out along the canal as far as Apperley Bridge, returning through the woods on the south side. There was lots of sunshine, but it's finally starting to get cooler.

Filed under canals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.