A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Tomatillos: Odd

They're odd. They're green. They're not tomatoes, not peppers. I'm not sure what they are. This may explain it better. I grew them this year for the first time. I grew them from seed and had no idea when to harvest them. They are odd, like I said.

After they sprouted I did not do a good job of thinning the seedlings. I'm a terrible thinner. It seems so wrong and unnatural. I can barely bring myself to do it at all. So they shot up straight and tall and over-crowded...and then they proceeded to lean...farther...and farther, until they were laying over on their sides. I think the wind blew them over. But they just laid there on top of the beets, chard, and cucumber plants. There seemed to be nothing I could do (besides the fact that this veggie garden is the most neglected one I've ever been in charge of - too much soap business keeping me inside). The little fruits were hollow and I wasn't sure what they should look like nor when the proper timing to harvest should be. So neglected they were. As time went on some were dropping to the ground; which is a sure sign that they are ready. I started picking them.

They are odd, as I've said. When you peel off the dry outer skin they are sticky. This is normal. When you roast them in a 400 degree oven, they smell nutty and wholesome. When you toss the roasted ones into a food processor with onions and cilantro and jalapeno it turns into green chili verde salsa, which I highly recommend. It's good as a salsa for dipping things into or as a marinade. It's odd but good.

Made three batches of soap today. I have never made three batches in one day before. I really should be making three batches daily from now until November...but somehow I doubt that will come to pass. Too much business to take care of.

Lemon-Eucalyptus w/ lemon powder: check
Tea Tree-Lavender w/ pink clay: check
Lime-Eucalyptus w/ sage powder: check

Tomorrow: 9 a.m. meeting with another designer/printer, then patchouli hand & body wash per request.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.