Bizonderimage

By Bizonderimage

Pomegranate

As a child I remember these being a very exotic fruit, supplied to me only very occasionally by my grandfather, who I remember as quite adventurous in his tastes, although often out of a tin. Of course I am thinking 50 years ago when food was quite different to nowadays. I remember my grandfather eating tripe, which looked disgusting to me then and still does now today. I also remember my Grandmother 'always' serving cooked tongue, but probably this only happened once or twice during my childhood. Tongue is one of those foods that look and taste OK on the plate, but look quite terrible if you see one raw!

We use to pick the seeds out of the pomegranate using a pin, so it could take some hours to eat, the yellow bits between the pips are very bitter so had to be completely avoided. Watching the TV chefs remove all the seeds in a few seconds by hitting the pomegranate with the back of a wooden spoon makes me wonder if my grandparents knew all along there was a quicker way to eat this super food?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.