Banquet

Our unique little community has an end of summer banquet with a performance by the chorus. I joined the chorus in July and made it to a few rehearsals before the hell month (August) wreaked havoc on my schedule. After missing 3 consecutive weeks, I made it back to the final rehearsal before the performance this week. They heartily welcomed me back and invited me to perform despite my poor attendance.

The banquet was fun - it was nice to meet some neighbors and the atmosphere was quite jovial.

I was introduced to a famous movie star (I don't see her in this picture) a few minutes before our performance. As we sang, there were bright lights upon us so that I could not see anyone past the front table. After the 1st song, I saw the movie star wince (it was a well-deserved wince). The subsequent songs made her giggle. I am not convinced these were good giggles. Let's just say we had an ambitious repertoire with a chorus of mixed abilities. Despite the poor performance, I will likely sing again next summer. Singing helps me stay sane.

And now it is way too late and I am off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.