Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Cairo Marriott Hotel

It was a public holiday today for the Islamic new year. It was good timing as it was also the first day of Morsi's trial. Demonstrations were expected and we'd had to have a plan B for our course timetable, just in case the BC decided to stay closed tomorrow too. As it turned out, all was quiet in the city and people just went about their daily business. I headed over to Zamalek and as a public holiday treat, went to the Marriott Hotel to sit on their terrace, mark my assignments and have a bite of lunch. An unexpected bonus was that I also used their new free wifi! The bite of lunch I ordered turned out to be so enormous that I left with a doggy bag which will be my breakfast, lunch and dinner tomorrow. I kid you not! Stuffed vine leaves, wonderful leavened bread (the size of a pizza), soft spicy cheese and rich, dark honey. I did 'sober for October' last month and have decided to continue for a wee while longer, so I had sparkling water today.

My blip's of the rather grand staircase which leads from the terraces back up to he main hotel foyer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.