kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Black truffle salt

We have a local mushroom wholesaler in the area, so I decided to stop in and see if they had any black truffles that I could use to try making truffle salt at home.

They told me that all they had were some frozen black truffles, and they would probably not have any fresh stock until after the first of the year.

I purchased a few of the frozen truffles and decided to give it a try. The normal ratio of truffle salt is about 95% sea salt with 5% truffles. There is a shop in the Pike Place market that sells a 10% variation which is quite good.

I decided to make a 10, 20, and 30% percent truffle mix and see what happens. Unfortunately my homemade truffle salt just does NOT seem to have any of the same aroma and taste of the store bought versions.


PS - Huge disappointment!

Looks like I will have to try this experiment again in 2014, using some fresh truffles, perhaps from another vendor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.