Small Places

By PicLocata

White-tailed eagle!

This is the first white-tailed (or sea) eagle I have seen on the east coast of Scotland. Eagles were released in Fife over two or three years in a reintroduction programme.

It's not sharp picture because it was taken by holding my binoculars up to the camera lens.

Mrs P and I went for a walk at Tentsmuir and this bird was perched opposite us where we sat for our lunchtime sandwiches. After about half an hour another eagle flew right in front of us and landed on a sandbank in the distance. It was joined by this one and the two sat side by side on a log.

The day started unusually too. We found flatfish (perhaps a sole?) on the beach about 100m from the water. I assumed it was dead but Mrs P noticed a slight movement. I carried it out to the sea. The waves brought it back on to the beach twice, but it seemed to be reviving and on the third attempt it disappeared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.