Pay it back!

National day of action against austerity and the cuts. Here in Norwich the People's Assembly coordinated a series of actions:

-an occupation of MP Norman Lamb's office

- a presence at the Haymarket from 12 noon, where we spoke to members of the public and invited them to put slips of paper into a 'bonfire bucket' stating what they wanted to put onto a bonfire of austerity

- an action where we visited each of the 'big 5' banks (NatWest, HSBC, Barclays, Lloyds and Virgin Money) demanding that the banks play fair.

- a Bonfire of Austerity at 5.30 pm where we lit a brazier, handed out sparklers and burned the slips of paper that people had put into the bucket.

Here we see comrades just after they left Virgin Money. In the foreground is Mehren, the young woman who spoke so eloquently at the demonstration in support of the teachers when they went on strike. Behind her is David, who I've been on several anti-EDL demos with, and behind him is Oliver, a sculptor and Barry an ex-serviceman.

I am cold, nackered and very proud of what we - and people across the UK - achieved today.

I doubt that there will be much mainstream media coverage.

Oh, and someone I don't know at all said that she loved my photos because they were 'hard hitting and sensitive'. I think she follows my entries on my LookSeeClick Photography page on Facebook. Gulp.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.