All the lonely people....

Eleanor Rigby.
I came across this bronze of Eleanor Rigby on Sunday. I took a photo, but did not use it for my Blip. I have been looking for her since, and today I found her, a stone's throw from Mathew Street and the legendary Cavern Club where The Beatles performed many times in their early years.
It was the way she is looking over towards this homeless man sleeping next to her on the bench that made me feel so sad. As the song goes, "All the lonely people, where do they all belong?"
Just a few interesting facts - Paul McCartney chose the names Eleanor Rigby from the actress Eleanor Bon, and Rigby and Evens Ltd. Wine & Spirit Shippers.
There is a tombstone for an Eleanor Rigby in the graveyard of St Peter's Church in Woolton, a suburb of Liverpool.
John Lennon and Paul McCartney first met at a Fete at this church.
This bronze of Eleanor Rigby is the work of Tommy Steele. He donated it to the City of Liverpool and dedicated it to all the lonely people. Inside the bronze he placed a pair of football boots, a four leaf clover, a couple of sonnets and a few children's comics for good luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.