A day in the life

By neacail

PARIS POKER BLOG DAY1

Set off Friday night arrived at CDG about 9pm. Went out for some food and a few drinks before hitting the Cerce Wagran poker club, right near the Arc De Triomphe.

It's quite a cool club, maybe 50 poker tables, and a strange roulette related type games in the basement but, its Friday night and the cash tables are jammed. Eventually got seated right in the corner and had my first experience of Parisien pokering.

5 minutes in and a guy 2 to my left gets knocked out. New guy sits down and immediately raises 50 euros. He then preceded to raise every single pot for about the next 5 hrs or reraising anyone who tried raising first. The guy was an absolute maniac. I wasn't too bothered as I was just thinking the same as everyone else - when I eventually get cards he's doubling me up. Thing was he was hitting absolutely everything and had an absolute mountain of chips, anyway, right enough, I get pocket K's and limp in, he reraises me to 35, I push all in. He flip over 3 7 off suit.
Flop comes out 456. First buy-in smoked.

Same sort of thing happens again shortly before closing time, I can't remember the exact details but it was another stinger.
Its 6am in Paris, 1/3 of my budget has just evaporated in 5hrs the first night has been a bit of a disaster.
Still Cic fared well and is about 100 Euros up, so not all bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.