Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

A long weight

This wall clock belonged to my wife's grandmother, who had apparently retrieved it from an attic once upon a time. It then belonged to my in-laws, and now to us.

Although my in-laws had it hung on a wall, apparently it doesn't work and has a piece missing. I know not what. It is also riddled by woodworm, some still in residence I suspect.

It would be nice to have an idea how old it is might be, but there are no markings that I can find, apart from "Iberia" on the face.

The manufacturing style looks more 'rural' than 'rolex'. I suspect that the case at least was assembled by some local clockmaker, perhaps with the movement made elsewhere. The pendulum is in the form of a hexapétala symbol, a circle containing six petals. It is an ancient symbol that is particularly common in Asturias, often carved into wooden 'horreo' barns, hence my guess that the clock is locally made.

First I shall fix it to the wall, securely given the very heavy weights. Then eventually perhaps I will see if I can work out what part is missing. Even if I do get it working, I understand that it is quite noisy and so might only be wound-up occasionally.

Some other shots of it are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.