wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

A perfect Saturday

Saturdays don't get much more delightful than this one. Heth, Erica and I started at our primary school fair, picking up a few bargains and crafty bits (and some wallaby burgers for lunch). It was funny to be back there after so long. A lot has changed, the school has doubled since I left, new buildings, a new fort (farewell old splintery fort), and everything looks so much smaller. 'Down by the willow trees' was an epic journey, one not taken lightly, but it must be some kind of time space continuum issue, because it doesn't look very far anymore...

Once we'd perused to our hearts content we dispersed. But not for long. Erica went her own way, but by mid afternoon Alex, Elly and I were at Heth's, on a mission to make crumpets. Alex and I made the batter, then we sat down with tea and chocolate to watch Indiana Jones do his thing and stop the end of the world. I'd recently seen an episode of Big Bang Theory where Amy reveals a fairly large plot hole (caution, may spoil it for you), so I was watching it with new eyes.

The batter rose and bubbled, I showed Alex how to make the crumpets, we ate them, I made everyone pause for a photo. The dog decided I was crouching down because I wanted to play (at one point she had her paws on my head), all was hilariously chaotic, then we watched the end of the movie where all was entertainingly chaotic. Elly left, but Alex, Heth and I had nothing we needed to go to, nothing we needed to do, so we decided to keep the relaxation going.

Risotto, Fred and Ginger and a little more chocolate later and it was late and time to leave the pregnant lady to get some well-earned sleep.

There's nothing like a day where you get to do what you're doing right then. There's no looking at watches, no checking what's happening next, no feeling of needing to be doing something else. You just get to enjoy the companionship of good friends and food.

Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.