wingpig

By wingpig

I won't bite. I promise.

One of these various you're-getting-older things which crops up from time to time is The One Concerning Music. Maybe it's just a matter of the availability of free time but I started noticing at about twenty-four that I just didn't seem to learn records as much as I previously did (although as a teenager the amount to which new records were listened to was greatly enhanced by the fact that it was obviously absolutely vital to learn to play most of an album on guitar. Just in case). Almost at the same time (but not necessarily as a consequence) I found that I often didn't go much further than the track-I'd-bought-the-album-for. It's foolish to say that it's just because all recent music is rubbish as it's probably just due to being exposed to a lot less; it's much less likely that one will encounter a track/band/vibe with which one clicks.
Nowadays it's a lot easier: you don't need to download anything other than the track you sought but there are still a few albums sitting round the place which I have bought (back when that was still necessary) but really don't know all that well. With some it means that until I get round to deleting the surplus ripped tracks I'm wasting a few MB of hard drive space but with others it means a few undiscovered things sitting about which every now and then I chance upon and grow to like.
One particular occurrence recentlish was in Six Feet Under S04E03 when Claire played Lucky through her window whilst Nate burnt his bedsheets on the front lawn. It sounded vaguely familar and was unquestionably Radiohead but I wondered why I didn't really know the track and was mildly surprised to discover it sitting towards the end of OK Computer (of which there were two copies sitting around the flat). I think when it came out I'd just bought it on the principle of The Bends and the live performance of Paranoid Android but hadn't really explored it further. Hopefully there are a few more nice surprises sitting around somewhere.

Another connected thing is how odd it is when albums play in the wrong order from the computer if they were ripped before I noticed such things happening and started sticking the track number into the filename. Anyone else get slightly uncomfortable if Today doesn't follow Quiet doesn't follow Cherub Rock?

There's also the slightly weirder happening of expecting a certain track to follow another as that's the order they were in on an old-fashioned self-compiled tape such as might be played on a walkman or car stereo before they went nice and technical.

I couldn't find the heron at lunchtime today and didn't like my pictures of not heron so had to find a chair and a doorway on the way home when this bloke didn't turn out sinister enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.