Ian

I could spare only a few moments today and decided to test my ND x 400 filter by the river. Some really interesting images emerged from the long exposures. This man passed by, riding his mobility scooter (converted into a Honda 400 replica) and my heart sank for him. I presumed he might have been involved in a horrible motorbike accident and was left paralyzed but his spirit had not been broken and the rebellious rocker was kicking alive inside him...
On my way back I saw him parked under the bridge. I stopped and we started chatting. Ian used to ride motorbikes in his younger years when life was normal but then he suffered a devastating stroke. The aura of this man was captivating and his will power tangible. I had no doubts why he'd survived against the odds...
We were amused by how similarly old fashioned we both were - using our mobile phones only to make phone calls and using cameras to take photographs... We both had strong sentiments for Newcastle and its architecture. I told him about my motorbike journey there when I rode through the night until the Angel of the North emerged from the fog in the early morning hours...

We shook hands like friends. I'm sure I'll meet Ian again some day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.