memento

By memento

It's not over till it's over

I decided to not be such an Eeyore today and find out if the rest of the city thinks that summer has bitten the dust. Clearly not!

When we arrive at the east shore of the most popular inner city lake, we discover that it is bustling with joggers, skateboarders and inline skaters zooming by, dogwalkers, strolling lovers, picknicking lovers and arguing lovers, all competing for the walking paths and picnic spots.

A small group, laughing happily, is mooring their sailboat just as the sun is dipping behind the cloudbank, a sign of the rain forecasted for tomorrow. Right before me, some very vocal female mallard ducks are swimming in tight circles, taking turns to quack at me, letting me know that it is unacceptable that I came without a bag of bread.

Glorious. Summer has a bit of life left in her yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.