Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Don't Blink

I went to a local garden centre this evening to do a spot of Christmas shopping. (Is that super organised?)

As I was making my way through the outdoor area I came across these statues clustering together. They reminded me of one of the most scariest Doctor Who episodes in the modern era, called Blink, which was about a race of 'Weeping Angels' who are stone statues that come to life when nobody is watching them, only to turn back to stone when they are observed.

It's a very simple idea, but unlike Daleks and Cybermen, who are definitely alien, statues are all around us, and I can imagine how creepy the story might have made children feel when they see statues in towns, or even clustering together in garden centres. I will leave you with these wise words from the Doctor..

'Your life could depend on this. Don't blink, don't even blink. Blink and you're dead. They are fast, faster than you can believe. Don't turn your back, don't look away and DON'T BLINK! Good Luck'

I think I got away with it, although I might have got some strange looks if the garden centre had been busier this evening. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.