Installation#1

I've been watching a couple of programmes the past two nights about the artist Edmund de Waal - "Imagine" and "What do artists do all day?"
One of the interesting points de Waal made was how he was exploring space and the relationship between objects by arranging lots and lots of porcelain pots he had made.
I thought, if say, ten or twenty, or even a hundred people were asked to artistically arrange a group of objects, would the resulting collection or installation be art?
It may be that they would indeed think that their work was artistic but would the art world view it as art?
I suppose this is the question that has been asked of artists and their endeavours for hundreds, if not thousands of years and I think that there is no definitive answer - what do you think?
As a homage to de Waal, I've taken a group of my own objects and arranged them - I'll do this every so often and hopefully come to an installation that I'm happy with. Who knows, I may even create a piece of art that could grace any art gallery? And before you say it, I'm not going to wait by the 'phone for Saatchi's call!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.