Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Inversion: Plus Minus

This is the second part of a public art installation that I blipped almost a year ago. This structure is about six blocks north of the first one, on the east side of the Morrison Bridge.

The title, Inversion: Plus Minus, refers to what is absent. It is an echo of the buildings that used to exist in this part of the city. This section is not as substantial as the one at the Hawthorne Bridge.

It's taken me a while to get used to these structures. I'm usually rushing by them on major thoroughfares, but this one is situated across from my favorite drive-through coffee shop, so I sometimes have the opportunity to really look at it as I wait my turn in line. (I was amused to see a crow perched on it the other day.) I find it intriguing and want to spend more time looking at it from different angles and heights.

Read all about the design, artists and some local reactions to it here.

Have a look at it large too. That's the Fremont Bridge in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.