Possibly the last thing I expected....

.... to find in the back garden of a semi in Hemel H.

At work, due to my glut I've been keeping a large basket of apples topped up with the invitation to 'Help yourself and make a donation to the Ebony Horse Club' (So far I've raised £55)

Today the basket was almost empty when a client wanted to take some and as they lived near by, I offered to take a full box to them.

I knocked on their front door, no reply, so I carried the apples round the side of the house to leave by the back door. Imagine my surprise when I saw this. I would have liked to take the image from the bottom of the garden, looking back towards the house, but thought that might be a bit cheeky.

As I snapped the owner came out and said, "Oh, you're looking at the cats' house"

It is, apparently, a Westland Wasp - from the 1960s that crashed landed. Brought home piece by piece and rebuilt behind the garage, the tail reaches the end of the garden.

It is marooned, doomed, never to fly again, but the cats don't mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.