sleepyduck

By sleepyduck

Talking

This chap was standing on Lothian Road, talking.

He wasn't talking particularly loudly, nor was he speaking softly. He was talking loudly enough and clearly enough for me to be able to make out what he was saying as I passed. Something about two people coming from separate directions handing out parking tickets. He was talking much as one might talk when using a hands-free mobile phone; but I could see no sign of any phone or hands-free apparatus.

He showed no sign of drunkenness or any other manner of intoxication, nor did he exhibit any indications of distress or anything other than a normal, calm emotional state. He did not approach passers-by nor did he try to make eye contact with them or engage them in any way. He was looking round as he talked: as I approached, he was looking towards the area from which I took this photograph, then he turned to look up the street. I passed that spot again a couple of minutes later and he was gone.

I have no idea why he was standing there, talking; but he was doing no harm.

In a complete non-sequitur, I feel that I should apologise for my outburst of materialism yesterday. In fact, while I'm at it, I apologise for any comments I have made here or any images I have posted which have caused offence (and I think there have been a few). I meant no harm. I do want world peace and an end to all poverty and disease.

Trouble is, I can't buy them with Mastercard. And I still want an M9.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.