Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Delicate

Several of my expat girlfriends left today for our annual London weekend. For a number of reasons, I had to sit this trip out, and it's hitting me fairly hard. I'd love to be traveling with them. To "add insult to injury," my husband and one daughter are also away for the weekend, leaving me alone to nurse one son with an injured foot and a daughter with a severe cold/flu, while carting the other son to and from activities.

My younger daughter is at a national Lacrosse team training camp in Hanover for the weekend. She's excited to get a chance to play for the German U19 team and hopes to make it to the World Cup in Scotland in 2015 (where her older sister expects to be at University). She has a role model in the family to follow. One of our exchange daughters, who learned to play LAX while living with us in the US, made it to the German national team and competed at the 2007 World Cup in Canada. We went up for a week to watch the games and support her team - and it was such a thrill to be at an international sports championship.

So wish her luck for the team and wish me luck to make it through the frustrating weekend with my sanity. Monday I actually have something very exciting to look forward to - besides the office! More on that later :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.