LNER Peppercorn Class A1 60163 Tornado

I had my blip on the way to school this morning - yeah great start to a fantastic day! Then on the way home as I was about to cross the railway track at Orton Mere I saw there was a steam train coming. I took a few naff shots then as it was parked at the station I nipped along an got a few more better ones. This evening whilst we were walking Tallulah I could here the chuffing. Home again quick bit of internet surfing and hey-ho we have the LNER Peppercorn Class A1 60163 Tornado.

60163 Tornado is a mainline steam locomotive built in Darlington, England. Completed in 2008, Tornado was the first such locomotive built in the United Kingdom since Evening Star, the last steam locomotive built by British Railways, in 1960. It is the only example of a LNER Peppercorn Class A1 class locomotive in existence, the entirety of the original production batch having been scrapped without preservation..
Actual construction of the Tornado began in 1994, and completed in 2008. Lots more fascinating information about this train can be found here

I had great fun this afternoon trying to take year group photos for a display. Trying to organise 40 - 60 kids at a time was pretty mad but great fun!

have a great weekend blippers! xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.