Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Scottish Icon - 1

A week or two ago I had an idea for an occasional blip series, starring some well known iconic products. Amongst the advantages I had in mind was the potential inherent in such a series when no other blips opportunities were present. Whatever was I thinking? Some of the objects I had in mind are by no means easy to find :-( but luckily for me, Stornoway Black Pudding is readily available in Crieff.

We are very lucky here to have two very good delis on the High Street. Most small towns would be happy with just the one! Equally luckily they are not really in direct competition with one another. McNee's is more the continental style of deli and doesn't do alcohol. Gill's is a more traditional shop and does carry craft beers and a wide range of whiskies - as well as authentic Stornoway Black Pudding.

I have it in my head that Charles Macleod, the butcher who produces this one, is known as Charley Barley. I have absolutely no idea why!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.