andypowe11

By andypowe11

Trains, planes and automobiles

Trento from the air... well, technically not from the air but from a hill overlooking the city. This shot is looking roughly north-east I think, with the Alps in the background.

Not the best of blips but I had to get up at 6.30am (5.30am UK time) to take the first cable-car up to the top of the hill to get this shot, so I'm not going to waste it. Unfortunately, as you can see, the blue skies of the last couple of days, were replaced by a rather dull grey this morning.

The big square in yesterday's blip is in the lower centre of this shot - look for the church with the round window at the end of the street running directly up the lower middle part of the image.

The cable-car was a rather small (6 person) jobby, used primarily by commuters as far as I could tell, which was quite interesting. I wouldn't mind going to work by cable-car. As is usual in Italy, I had to buy my ticket (a whole 0.90 euros) and then validate it in a machine before use. Oddly, the same man who sold me the ticket, and who watched me validate it, then insisted that I show it to him and have it clipped as I entered the cable-car. Strange. There was only me and one other person getting on.

I spent the rest of the day travelling home. A fairly smooth journey - train, bus, plane, train, train, train, taxi. Followed by a quick bike ride before dark when I got home. Overall, not a bad day for using multiple modes of transport!

Cooked tea with Stan, then watched the England game. 5-1. Get in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.