Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Juvenile Black-crowned Night-Heron

We went to Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge in Delaware today and did not find a lot of activity. There were some black ducks (were too far away to photograph), geese, blue heron, and some seagulls. As we were heading out of the park, we stumbled across this young heron. A nice lady from Baltimore, Maryland was nice enough to get her birding book out and help me identify it.

Hope you all are well and are having a great weekend.

BTW - I am not totally thrilled with the angle that this picture was taken. The heron was at the bottom of a rocky ravine and I was about 6 feet away - I crouched down as low as I could without scaring him and putting me at risk of falling in the water!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.