memento

By memento

Ageing angels

I watched my neighbor's six year old daughter for a couple of hours tonight. I've known and loved her since she was born and visa versa. In fact, tonight, she said I was an angel for watching her on such short notice. We do girlie crafts together because she loves to learn. When I praised her recently for being so good at art she explained it with: "Well, I have done art ALL my life!" True, all three years since she learned how to use pencils and scissors properly.

Tonight we popped Mary Poppins into my desktop tower so we could take screen shots of the frufru white dress worn during the carousel-in-the-painting sequence. She has decided that it would be the best Halloween ever if she could wear that costume, so I'm making it for her.

During the movie she asked if Mary Poppins was an angel because she comes out of the clouds. I said no. Then she told me that Mary Poppins now has brown hair and Bert has white hair because they are old. Fair enough. She wanted to know how old the little kids in the movie are now. I guessed about my age or a bit older, like Mr. F. She asked me how old I was. I said 49. She gasped, followed by an authoritative statement that the actor who played the kid's dad is dead of course, because he's already old in the movie. Well how do we know that he is already old in the movie? Oh, because he has wrinkles. Like you, she said, but you only have some around your eyes and by your mouth.

Well thank you so much for pointing that out little missy! I hadn't noticed. I best not croak before I get your costume done, eh?



This is a blatant copycat blip of Dr. Craig and his visiting blip friend Stewart's light painting blips of the last two days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.