Happy Meal

This chicken was pasture-raised on a local organic family farm, with plenty of room to roam and scratch, as well as a ration of all-organic whole grains.

That is not the kind of chicken you find in McDonald's "Happy Meals" (Chicken McNuggets) for children or other menu options that include chicken.

I support local family farmers because when I buy their produce, dairy products, and meat at the farmers' market, I know that they're feeding their families the same food that I'm buying, and that, to me, is food safety at its highest. Also, my dollars go directly to the farmers, instead of a chain of middlemen, and the food has traveled only a few miles to reach me.

My ability to do this in the future is jeopardized by proposed food safety rules from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that would regulate small and mid-sized farms out of business, as explained in the online newsletter from the farm where this chicken was raised -- the farm where I buy many of my vegetables, and chickens as well.

I've added my comments on the FDA website as an "individual consumer" through this link, joining thousands of others. Yes, it took some time this afternoon -- but I think it's vitally important.

(A note on yesterday's entry: I took the photo at the Kulshan Community Land Trust celebration last evening, where the very tall beauty and her partner, local performers, were making balloon animals/swords/hats for the children. She was also blowing bubbles, which enchanted the youngest, in particular. I was delighted to have a very "unlike me" blip to offer!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.