minnie me

By bmm

Big Blue

IBM System 360 computer at the Computer History Museum in Mt. View, California.

We took Caltrain up to Mountain View & walked over to the Computer History Museum. Spent a couple hours there but could easily have stayed longer. It was interesting to see the evolution of computers - amazing how things have changed so quickly in just a few decades. Several of the displays had direct links to 3 generations of my own family: there was a Norden bombsight (my grandfather worked on those as an engineer during WWII), an Amdahl mainframe computer (my father was a very early employee of Amdahl and his job there was the reason we moved to California), and finally several 1990's era computers that I worked with as a new graduate from college.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.