Carpe diem

By EveryDayMatters

Gateshead Staithes and Chickens

Gateshead Staithes and Chickens

After yesterday's 'burgerfest', I decided to cycle the calories off. So, I set off for Gateshead via the Ouseburn, then the Tyne and Swing Bridges. I crossed to the South side and cycled down the lovely first part of Keelman's Way. I ended up at the Gateshead Staithes and took this blip. It was a lovely day, blue skies, crisp, and the river was full of cormorants and various bird life. The city was pretty vibrant with the market on the Quayside in full swing. I then cycled up back over the Swing bridge (deserted) and then managed to get up Dean Street into the centre of the city in one go!! This is pretty steep so was a bit of a challenge.

Back through Jesmond and then I was stopped for 'advice' by some young student girls - still in their dressing gowns (mid afternoon!!). "How do you catch a chicken?", they said, in Posh Geordie tones. Yes, the chicken then appeared on the side of the street/road. I nearly quipped, Why did the Chicken cross the road? but thought better of it... So, in my most authorative and parental voice I said "Quick get a blanket or a towel and throw it over the chicken's head. That will calm it down and enable you to grab hold of it!" - "Oh", they said, whereupon they proceeded to run into their flat to find something to end the drama. One girl did consider taking her dressing gown off - but thought better of it when about five boys started cheering out of one of the windows. This is typical Jesmond and student life, a normal lazy Sunday afternoon.

The mystery is: Whose chicken was it? Why was it trying to cross the road? and did they manage to catch it? Then - what did they do with it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.