My days ...My life

By ElspethAnne

San Marco , Florence.

A day of dramatic thunderstorms and long walks round Florence. We visited the San Marco museum . How can I describe the experience here ? Photography was not permitted, so I took this picture of the courtyard garden at the exit. So much I loved about this place; the beauty of the monks' cells with their beautiful arched doors and windows overlooking the courtyard , the Fra Angelico painting of The Annuciation ,the fresco fragment of St Catherine , the well in the courtyard and the lemon tree ! One monk's cell was my favourite with the fresco of the Nativity . It was similar in its composition to many nativity scenes but seemed to me to be a celebration of love , birth , motherhood ,peace and simplicity .It would be amazing to linger there !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.