Icing on the Tops

A special day indeed! As well as being Remembrance Sunday, it is our wedding anniversary, so a surprise outing was planned by my husband, in addition to the beautiful bouquet of flowers he'd already given me.

He drove me down the M9. Stirling Castle? No, we carried on past Stirling and turned off at the junction for Falkirk. The Falkirk Wheel? Very nice, but we have been twice before. No - we kept going until ..... there they were! The Kelpies!! For those who don't know what I'm talking about, a kelpie is a mythical waterhorse and two beautiful sculptures have recently been unveiled in Falkirk depicting the heads of these beautiful horses. They sparkled in the sunshine and I couldn't wait to get closer to take photos.

The plan fell apart here, as the road to the Kelpies had been closed while further development of the Helix Park is taking place. So the nearest we got to them was driving back down the motorway, where I took one desperate blip at 60 mph. I'll put in in my Blipfolio under Misc and you can get the idea, but it's a rubbish picture!

Now for Plan B! We drove instead to Kippen, not far from Stirling and had a delicious lunch at The Woodhouse Café. After lunch we continued up the hill towards Fintry, then turned and drove down again to get the most splendid views across to the snow-capped mountains. This was one such view.

So the day ended well after all and the Kelpies will always be there another time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.