airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

In Flanders Fields,

and Keighley , West Yorkshire.

This is a photograph of the War Memorial in Keighley , West Yorkshire, where I have the honour every year of playing the Last Post for the Remembrance Day Parade.

I always wear my grandfather's medals, he is the bottom of the inset photographs, John Thornton, 8 Nov 1896 - 22 Nov 1966. The other two would have been his brother -in- laws had they survived. The middle one is William Binns, 12 Feb 1895 - 6 Nov 1915, and the top one is his brother George Binns, 14 Sep 1896 - 4 October 1917.

My immediate family had other losses including my Great Grandfather William Parkin from Sheffield, and these losses are repeated across all families in Britain and beyond.

Whilst it is important to remember those that didn't make it back, lets not forget those that did and still live with the consequences caused by being prepared to serve their Country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.