Like a kid in a candy store

I'm so keyed up right now! I've just won my first big deal photo competition and it's earned me the privilege of a solo exhibit next year. Woohoo! :))

The competition is a 'photo slam' (modeled after poetry slams) that takes place annually as part of DC's photo festival. To enter, you had to present a coherent portfolio of five images in the first round. The 12 highest scorers (based on scores from five professional photographer judges) moved on to the next round where you presented one additional image (still coherent with the rest of the portfolio). The judges then decided on 1st, 2nd and 3rd place. My portfolio (seen here) won first place.

The photos are of remarkably strong and resilient women from Niger (from my very last mission there) whose story I've also told here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.