A day in the life

By neacail

PARIS POKER BLOG day 3

Sunday morning, petit dejeuner in the cafe overlooking place de la bastille. Life is tough!

Todays the 60 euro tournament starting at 4 pm so we're just chilling a bit getting into the zone. I dont like the tournament structure much 1500 chips seems pretty derisory to start with for that sort of money, you need to double up quick or its an early bath. Usually for that sort of money you'd expect 4- 6000 chips to allow a bit of creativity, nonetheles Cic convinces me we should go in for it. 100 players enter and much to my surprise we end up at the same table which is cool.
2nd hand I get, pocket 6's, SB raises I call, Cic calls on button. Flop is something like 8,6,3, not much danger. SB fires at me, I reraise, Cic bails out and before I know it we're both all in 2 minutes into the tournament!
I'm praying she's not got an over set, and she shows pocket kings. Trips hold up and she's dusted.
I 'm hitting every flop for the next wee while and start to get a healthy stack. Cic then gets involved in a hand with me and starts betting at me, I've flopped a full house! Stop! I'm trying to tell him with my body language that I'm beating him, not much point knocking each other out! Anyway, he gives up and I don't damage him too bad. Shortly after he's doing the full Hollywood routine before calling a raise and reraise with his pocket Aces unfortunately for him the Jacks he's against catch another jack and he's out. Obviously not happy I'm hoping he doesn't go on tilt on the cash tables.
The tournament was a brilliant laugh, really entertaining, I ended up getting crippled with my AK calling a huge raise by the button who had q's, he hit a set and I paid him off. Never quite recovered, and ended up in the 13th place, shame seeing as the prizes started at 10th!
Caught up with Cic after, clutching a mountain of chips - Big win on the cash tables - Brilliant.
We went out for something to eat and a few drinks before coming back for the night session. Was a bit grim for me, the hands that stick in my mind were me calling a guys all in bet, with top pair ace kicker. he had bottom pair but spiked his set on the river. That hurt abit and there were two other hands when I was comfortably ahead only for the turn or the river to conspire against me. Not great for the bank roll! I'm back down though Cic is still comfortably up. Could be worse, but dissapointing for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.