DDW

By DDW

Remembrance Day Silver

Today is the day the world remembers the sacrifices and bravery of the men and women who fought and died for their country in times of war.

Although my father was not killed during World War II, he certainly fought long and hard in the South Pacific. He was a mere child when he joined the Navy -- only eighteen years old. He's been gone now for over thirty years, but I think of him and miss him every day. He was a wonderful, loving father.

The two antique silver bracelets in the photograph were given to me by my dad when I was a young girl. At that time, he worked on Dover Street in London, and occasionally he would surprise me with a purchase he'd made at the Burlington Arcade. They made me feel very special, and I treasure them to this day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.