Triskel

Sometimes it pays to look down. A quick trip to Bantry today and these attractive 'Celtic' inspired draincovers ( I can't think of their proper name) caught my eye. The lettering spelling out uisce (water) is rather fine as is the triskel - the triple spiral. I've put Celtic in brackets for a) there is much dispute as to whether the Celts, whoever they were, actually made it to Ireland and b) this design goes way back. The best example of it is on New Grange , a hugely impressive tomb built around 2500BC and now a World Heritage Site. It appears on the magnificent kerbstone at the entrance to the monument and is also carved within the passages. What it means is less clear. Triskel comes from the Greek and means three legged. Theories as to its original meaning include symbols for life, death and rebirth or the realms of the Land, Sea and Sky. Like many pagan symbols it was later commandeered by Christianity and used to represent the Trinity. Neolithic people would no doubt be amused to see it being used to decorate drain covers.
Should I ever get a tattoo, I think this is what I'd have - somewhere discrete.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.