The Messy Room

By miketoons

Armistice Day Steam Special

I nearly didn't bother. A grey, drippy day and lots of other things to occupy most of the morning. However, just after lunch, I decided that it was probably worth walking up to Faversham station to see the steam special. I would have hated to have heard its whistle from the house.

This is the Kentish Belle on its way back to London Victoria: a round trip via Maidstone, Ashford, Folkestone, Dover, Ramsgate, Whitstable and Sittingbourne.

On the railway bridge by Faversham station were a small group of 'men of my age'. Intelligent, articulate and similarly in love with steam railway engines. Bloody trainspotters. They told me there's another one through next month. I've made a note in the diary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.