Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Violets for Christmas?

LeeAnn's Colour Challenge - Day 11 - Violet

With just 43 days until Christmas I have made a start on the little luxuries necessities, like chocolates. I found these violet flavoured fondant creams in our local "old fashioned sweet shoppe", and am looking forward to trying them.

I was really looking for the violet flavoured sweets I remember from my childhood. My sister and I used to get half-a-crown pocket money (12.5 p in new money), from Nana and Grandad, and as a treat would be taken down to Mrs Ansell's, who ran a sweet shop in her basement, and had done since Mum was a child. Alternatively, we visited the weekly grocery van which travelled the streets selling basic groceries: I guess today this service is now provided by supermarket internet shopping. Both these outlets sold various sweets for a penny (1 old penny), including the aforementioned violet sweets, as well as gobstoppers, flying saucers, sherbet dabs, liquorice etc. etc. We got a good selection for our money, and still had plenty left to save up for holidays!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.