Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Mount Torlesse with Cabbage Tree

I went on a blip trip to Waianiwaniwa Valley today. (blipped here). It was so beautiful there. The perfumed air was warm and there was just a little breeze. The grass was bright green and the willows along the creek were opening their leaves and catkins. The only sounds were of birds, the busy creek and the occasional roar as the nor'west wind caught the treetops.

I saw a kingfisher, quail, and a pair of welcome swallows, all birds I rarely see at home.

My intention was to get a good photo of the road winding through an amazing avenue of poplars before they sprouted their leaves. I got that and a lot of other shots that pleased me. Then when I was returning home through the Sheffield Valley I saw Mount Torlesse peeping over the hill. The hillside was dark, but as I was composing the shot a patch of sunshine came racing up the valley. I managed to hold off until it reached the hedge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.