Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Loving Life

My lovely daughter-in-law and 3 grandchildren are in the Canterbury area for a few days so we managed some special time together today. After lunch down in Sumner Village we had a roam along the beach. The boys played with stones and rocks, building some inventive structures, while P & V and I wandered along past the cliffs to Shag Rock. V. was having a lovely time scampering around the lower rocks (not on the ones that are broken and jagged) and I just caught her celebrating being up there - with a reflection in the pool below. I think she looks great!

I had another visit from Canterbury Earthquake Recovery this morning, together with the Structural Engineer, the Contractor and my neighbour. 3 hours later all the levels had been reassessed and the problems more clearly seen - the house has a decided lean to the east and north, plus the poles (it's a pole house) and the concrete pad have come adrift. I've always known about how it's been, but it's really good that the measurements are all done and the experts can get on with it. The engineer now has to work out a cunning plan for fixing it all. There will be a few more weeks' wait while he works on that. Groan! Christmas?

Colour Challenge - fawn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.