All that jazz

By frankbrett

Famous!

We had a family outing (me, Ros, my daughter, her partner and a fiend) to see 'Gravity' in Leicester last night. It wouldn't normally be the sort of film I'd choose but as my son, Mikey, appears in the credits (as 'Movement Artist') it had to be seen. Mikey is one of the people that Sandra Bullock has referred to in interviews as 'the War Horse puppeteers' who manipulated her via a wiring rig to give the free-fall effect. So yes, Mikey has also been in War Horse (inside Joey the main horse puppet). He already is well known (if not 'famous') in puppetry circles.

The film? Actually very good. Both Becca and I realised afterwards how tense we'd been just willing Sandra to be able to grab onto bits of the space station as it hurtles past. Well done to Sandra, Mikey and Alfonso Cuaron :-)

If you see it, watch out for the weightless tears. What an excellent idea and image.

We passed this amateur signage which caused some amusement. Maybe I'm famous too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.