REDRUM!!

And now for something completely different . . .

OK, so here's where I admit that I am - as Jack Nicholson's character says of his wife in the classic 1980 horror film The Shining - "a confirmed ghost story and horror film addict."

Sometimes I get a bit artistic with the condensation left on the bedroom windows in the morning. (Case in point: see my awesome window art tribute to Van Gogh here.)

On this particular morning, I was inspired to write on the window the message that young Danny Torrance writes on the door to his mother's bedroom in the film. (Those unfamiliar with The Shining may view that short film clip here.)

I am almost always up and about in the morning before my husband, and on this particular morning, I took the occasion to write this message on the window, hoping (jokingly) to scare him out of his wits. (Yes, I know. You're welcome. A great way to start the day, my love.)

My husband's reaction? A snicker and then a quick dismissal. I'm just not that scary a protagonist, I guess. Alas. I'll have to work on that.

But just wait till I start dressing up as twins and lurking around each dark corner shouting, "Come play with us, Danny!" in an ominous voice at him and the cat. Won't they be surprised and horrified then . . . !? (Um, yeah . . . right.)

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.
All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.
All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy . . .


The soundtrack: Bruce Springsteen, Murder Incorporated.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.