she's still dancing

today I want to draw your attention to the fact that people - and that probably includes you - have a "special voice" for talking to foreigners.
Half an hour into a conversation, The Foreigner mentions that they come from a different country and then their conversational partner drops their tone slightly, start speaking more clearly and in a patronising voice and asks a stupid question. In the last month or so I have been asked:
Are you sure?
Then why can you speak German?
Can you speak German?
Do you live here then?
Do you like living in Switzerland?

The only thing to do, if one remains polite, is to smile and nod and DEFINITELY not say:
Yes, of course I'm frigging sure.
Because I learnt it, idiot.
We've just been speaking German to each other for half an hour, what do you think?
YES!! I work here too - many people live where they work, didn't you know?
No, I hate it, that's why I stay and have become a Swiss citizen and no, I really don't want to move back to the UK so don't bother asking.

Also, nutting them one is also not an option.

Next time you meet a foreign person just remember, they are secretly insulting you in their own language in their minds because you are talking to them in "special voice". Watch yourself and cringe :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.