Spent Sunflowers

In our travels around the country, we've seen some huge sunflower fields. Iowa, Nebraska, Illinois. But, my favorite was in South Dakota...on I-90...somewhere near where the Missouri River runs through the state.

Tall yellow flowers...as far as the eye can see. Plus the added bonus of hundreds and thousands of grasshoppers. Sight and sound...hard to beat.

This small field is obviously far from being yellow...far from being pretty. And, there wasn't a grasshopper to be found.

But...I returned to the first photographic advice I was ever given, and it was pretty simple. Get something red in the picture. OH YEAH! There's my barn door.

I think this field of flowers must have been planted late, or the plants just didn't take. They weren't very tall, and the heads weren't developed.

As you can just barely see in the front of the picture...we got our first bit of snow last night. And...it's cold. 3 p.m. in the afternoon, and it is only 34F (2C).

Time to bring out my Elmer Fudd hat.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.