MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Glossy Over Rye Meads

I learnt the derivation of grog today. It comes from the Gaelic word croc for horn. In districts where glass was too expensive to purchase, people used to drink liquor from horns. I went to RSPB Rye Meads in the hope of shooting a water buffalo horn to illustrate my journal entry for today.

A man with a 'scope was in the hide overlooking where the buffalo graze and I asked him what he was looking at. He said a glossy ibis! These are quite rare and I've noticed a flurry of interest about them on Twitter. The ibis was a long way in the distance, too far away to tog.

Eventually it took off and landed, still a long way off but within shooting distance. I tracked it through the air and was onto it when it landed. There was quite a crowd in the hide at that point and nobody else could see it. I got some reasonable shots.

When it took off again I got the above shot. It is almost out of the range of my lens but I love its unmistakeable shape against the reeds. I got some even more indistinct shots of it in flight which show the beautiful iridescence of its plumage. It really is glossy when it catches the light.

The water buffalo and their new born calf have been moved away from the reserve for the winter as conditions are too wet even for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.