Languedoc Daily

By BrodieB

Book Club

This is my fifth month being part of a book club. I've been suspicious for years of the Richard and Judy / Oprah thing so I never joined one, but a friend (I've never met anyone who reads more voraciously despite the fact that English is not her mother tongue) started this one and it sounded such a gas I asked if I might join. Now of course, I can't think why I ever hesitated.
I also read a book called "The End of Your Life Book Club" by Will Schwalbe which reveals how important books are because of their ability to let you share really important stuff with people you care about. Plus Will Schwalbe's book offered up a most amazing reading list which I'm still working through. (Wallace Stegner's "Crossing to Safety" was a complete revelation. )
So far in my book club we've talked about, "White Oleander" by Janet Fitch, "The Stonecutter" by Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck (?) "The "Many Lives and Secret Sorrows Of Josephine B," by Sandra Guillard, "Swimming Home" by Deborah Levy and, this month's read, "The Secret Life of France" by Lucy Wadham.
I'm mentioning these books because I wouldn't have chosen to read most of them. But I've had to. That's the Book Club contract. And I'm so glad I did even if I didn't adore them all.
It's good to know what other people think. It's good to discover what other people choose.
Rock 'n roll.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.