TSG HQ

I had various things that had to be done at work today. All went well, it all got done, and I was able to leave at 5pm. Hurray.

Was at the Scottish Government HQ today (pictured) for a meeting.

The Scottish Government (previously the Scottish Office and the Scottish Executive) is not exactly the Scottish Parliament. The Scottish Government is where they keep the civil servants. The Scottish Parliament is where they keep the MSPs. Although the MSPs form and look after the Scottish Government.

I guess you could find civil servants and MSPs at a Scottish Government Building or the Scottish Parliament building. Although they are clearly labelled with different names.

I know, it is quite complicated.

Which is why both times I booked a taxi involving the Scottish Government HQ today, I was very lucky not to end up at the Scottish Parliament building as this is where the person on the end of the phone tried to book me for.

They changed the name to Scottish Government in 2007 to clear this sort of confusion up. Alex Salmond said "The overwhelming majority of people had no idea what the term 'executive' meant. Obviously the Scottish administration is the government."

For the man in the street (or the man at the taxi firm) clearly this has not helped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.